Sassy2Savvy

and everything in between… Wife, Mom, Sister, Friend

Always Defining Who I Am January 4, 2014

Filed under: Daily Devotion,S2S Coffee Hour,Sassy2Savvy Blog — sassy2savvy @ 3:50 PM

Picture taken by a good friend and photographer. http://www.makeitsnappy3.blogspot.com

The New Year can sometimes can be so paralyzing, it screams “CHANGE” in so many ways. People making resolutions to change this or that; becoming thinner, becoming stronger, quit smoking, stop using credit cards. I found this New Year that I had so many ideas of what I wanted to, who I wanted to be, and where I wanted to go that the last four days of the New Year has been so mentally exhausting that I could not even find the energy to move off the couch. If you know anything about me I spend most of my time in full throttle and I slow down on rare occasion. This last week I had so many ideas that I analyzed all the possibilities before I even started that I paralyzed myself from even beginning. This week has been mentally draining without any accomplishment.

Today as I thought about it, I came to the conclusion that I don’t have to have all the answers or know the exact direction. If I am living for the sole purpose to bring God glory then I just have to take the first step and He will direct my placement and path. You see we are always defining ourselves. It’s not just at the beginning of the year or the middle of the year but each day we wake up we are defining something about ourselves. Do not get me wrong I look to the New Year with great anticipation and believe that resolutions give individuals goals which then provides direction. With my type A personality, New Years is a chance to organize my thoughts and come up with actions. But what I don’t need to do is believe that it is the only time of the year that I can create change or make goals. And I don’t have to have all the answers, as the answers will come. And if I am afraid of failing then my goals are bigger then me but not bigger then God so I have great goals.

So I am no longer paralyzed, but will vow to put one foot in front of the other. I will wake up knowing that I am daily defining who I am and knowing I serve a mighty and powerful God. I don’t need all the answers of how I am going to get there just the FAITH to believe that He will direct my path.

“May the Lord direct your hearts into God’s love and Christ’s perseverance.” 2 Thessalonians 3:5

 

Leave a comment